Chairman Wm. Weston J. Newton

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

March 4, 2016

HAND DELIVERY
Director Sylvia Murray
South Carolina Department of Juvenile Justice
PO Box 21069
Columbia, South Carolina 29221-1069
SLMURR@scdjj.net

Dear Ms. Murray,

Thank you for the opportunity to visit the agency with Mr. Austin Smith, Governor's Office Deputy Chief of Staff (Cabinet), to obtain the information listed below for the Subcommittee to review.

- Written statement explaining all the different ways information about incidents at the agency can be sorted and searched electronically;
- Copies of videos from the Friday, February 26, 2016 incident which have actions of juveniles in view, including, but not limited to, videos from Cyprus, the school, police headquarters, the dispensary, and especially the girls dorm;
- Copies of videos from MEC when the teacher was punched on February 11, 2016;
- Copies of videos from the December 19, 2015 incident which have actions of juveniles in view, including, but not limited to, videos from CMU, Cyprus, Holly, Maple, and the school;
- Copies of videos from the September 18, 2015 incident which have actions of juveniles in view at Birchwood High School;
- Copies of videos from the September 19, 2015 incident which have actions of juveniles in view, including but not limited to, videos from Magnolia and when the juveniles were placed in the vans for transport and escaped;
- Copies of vides from the major incidents in August 2015;
- Number of dorms and number of units during the last 10 years, by year, in which the dorm or unit has become uninhabitable due to juvenile behavior;
- Copy of all agency policies;

First Vice-Chair: Laurie Slade Funderburk

Nathan Ballentine Gary E. Clary Kirkman Finlay III Joseph H. Jefferson Jr. Walton J. McLeod Joshua Putnam Samuel Rivers Jr. Tommy M. Stringer Bill Taylor

Jennifer L. Dobson Research Director

Cathy A. Greer Administration Coordinator

Legislative Oversight Committee



South Carolina House of Representatives

William K. (Bill) Bowers Raye Felder Phyllis J. Henderson Mia S. McLeod Ralph W. Norman Robert L. Ridgeway III James E. Smith Jr. Edward R. Tallon Sr. Robert Q. Williams

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

Post Office Box 11867 Columbia, South Carolina 29211

Telephone: (803) 212-6810 • Fax: (803) 212-6811

Room 228 Blatt Building

- If not included in an agency policy, all employees at the agency who receive an Event Report, Unit Conference Form, or Community Conference Form, after the form is initially submitted by the individual who fills out the form, and what the employees who receive the form are required to do with the form and information included therein;
- Written statement explaining all the different ways information about employee retention can be sorted and searched electronically;
- Copies of all exit interview forms and notes from employees who have left the agency in the last two years;
- Copies of PowerPoints provided during monthly PbS meetings at the agency during the past 12 months;
- Copies of PowerPoint presentations Ms. Velvet McGowan or others have presented which explain one or more of the following: all of the different PbS reports that can be run from the information in the PbS database; information available in the PbS database; how to enter information in the PbS database; and who at the agency is authorized to enter information in the PbS database; and
- Written statement explaining the role of the different employees in the agency's Office of Inspector General.

Your continued cooperation in the legislative oversight process is appreciated.

Sincerely,

Signature Redacted

Charles L. Appleby IV Legal Counsel

cc: Mr. Austin Smith, Governor's Office Deputy Chief of Staff (Cabinet)

The Honorable Wm. Weston J. Newton

The Honorable Kirkman Finlay III

The Honorable William K. Bowers

The Honorable Raye Felder

The Honorable Edward R. Tallon Sr.